HuntingNut
HuntingNut
   Login or Register
HomeCommunity ForumsPhoto AlbumsRegister
     
 

User Info

Welcome Anonymous


Membership:
Latest: pcorbin
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 1
Overall: 12893

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 95
BOT: 1
Total: 96
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: Forums
02: Forums
03: Home
04: Forums
05: Home
06: Home
07: Forums
08: Forums
09: Home
10: Forums
11: Forums
12: Forums
13: Home
14: Forums
15: Forums
16: Forums
17: Forums
18: Forums
19: Home
20: Home
21: Forums
22: Home
23: Forums
24: Home
25: Forums
26: Forums
27: Forums
28: Forums
29: Home
30: Home
31: Forums
32: Forums
33: Forums
34: Forums
35: Forums
36: Home
37: Forums
38: Your Account
39: Home
40: Home
41: Forums
42: Home
43: Forums
44: Forums
45: Home
46: Home
47: Home
48: Forums
49: Forums
50: Forums
51: Forums
52: Your Account
53: Forums
54: Forums
55: Forums
56: Home
57: Forums
58: Forums
59: Forums
60: Home
61: Forums
62: Home
63: Home
64: Forums
65: Home
66: Forums
67: Forums
68: Forums
69: Home
70: Home
71: Home
72: Forums
73: Forums
74: Forums
75: Home
76: Home
77: Forums
78: Forums
79: Forums
80: Forums
81: Forums
82: Forums
83: Forums
84: Forums
85: Home
86: Forums
87: Forums
88: Forums
89: Forums
90: Home
91: Forums
92: Home
93: Home
94: Home
95: Home
  BOT:
01: Forums

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!
 

Coppermine Stats
Photo Albums
 Albums: 307
 Pictures: 2398
  · Views: 742317
  · Votes: 1313
  · Comments: 86
 

PB Patcher Problem ????
Help / Support / How-to's / Discussion related to PointBlank Software and External Ballistics in general
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index » PointBlank Software

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tripledeuce
Rookie Member
Rookie Member


Joined: Jan 25, 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 6:57 pm    Post subject: PB Patcher Problem ???? Reply with quote

I ran the PB Patcher with PB V2.0.8 on my computer. The Patcher downloaded V2.0.8.1 on my desktop with sixteen other files such as targets, powder, bullets, primers,cases, calipers, HTML, Example, and Template. Should this happen? Should the patcher just update my version?
If it doesn't update the existing version, and downloads the new version with its updates all my inputed info into the previous version needs to be somehow copied to the updated version. If it should be updating my previous version what is wrong and how to correct?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile
DallanC
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Jan 18, 2005
Posts: 3351
Location: Utah

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 7:06 pm    Post subject: Re: PB Patcher Problem ???? Reply with quote

It should overwrite any out of date file, with a newer version. This can include any of the files you listed.

I think I am misunderstanding your problem. Did it download the files into a place other than where the original place the patcher was run from?


-DallanC
Back to top
View user's profile Photo Gallery
tripledeuce
Rookie Member
Rookie Member


Joined: Jan 25, 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 5:00 am    Post subject: Re: PB Patcher Problem ???? Reply with quote

The PB Patcher is not within Point Blank it is a seperate file on my desk top as is the Point blank software. This is how it downloaded . The PB Patcher and Point Blank are run from the desk top.
Back to top
View user's profile
Ominivision1
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: Sep 20, 2010
Posts: 2984
Location: Iowa

PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 11:10 am    Post subject: Re: PB Patcher Problem ???? Reply with quote

I just checked my point blank installation and it's in a folder called C:\Documents and Settings\Ominivision1\Start Menu\Programs\Hunting\Point-Blank and from the start menu, I have a folder for point blank and just click on pb patcher to run it and it auto updates itself.

Like Dallan asked, what version of windows do you have?

_________________
Regards

Limitations are but boundaries created inside our minds.
Back to top
View user's profile Photo Gallery
DallanC
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Jan 18, 2005
Posts: 3351
Location: Utah

PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 11:51 am    Post subject: Re: PB Patcher Problem ???? Reply with quote

tripledeuce wrote:
The PB Patcher is not within Point Blank it is a seperate file on my desk top as is the Point blank software. This is how it downloaded . The PB Patcher and Point Blank are run from the desk top.

Ah ok, create a folder... anywhere you want. Copy the PBPatcher.exe file into that folder. Now run it and it will pull down all necessary files to run PointBlank. It downloads all the files into whatever folder the patcher is in... if thats on your desktop, thats where they all go.

I have thought about creating an actual installer file, but the size would be many many times what the actual program is.


-DallanC
Back to top
View user's profile Photo Gallery
Ominivision1
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: Sep 20, 2010
Posts: 2984
Location: Iowa

PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 12:00 pm    Post subject: Re: PB Patcher Problem ???? Reply with quote

DallanC wrote:
I have thought about creating an actual installer file, but the size would be many many times what the actual program is.
-DallanC

Dallan, I have already created a self installer using both INNO and Install Shield for windows. I have already passed them on to friends that use windows and it works great. And the size of the install program is less then 600k.

_________________
Regards

Limitations are but boundaries created inside our minds.
Back to top
View user's profile Photo Gallery
tripledeuce
Rookie Member
Rookie Member


Joined: Jan 25, 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 11:10 pm    Post subject: Re: PB Patcher Problem ???? Reply with quote

DallanC wrote:
tripledeuce wrote:
The PB Patcher is not within Point Blank it is a seperate file on my desk top as is the Point blank software. This is how it downloaded . The PB Patcher and Point Blank are run from the desk top.

Ah ok, create a folder... anywhere you want. Copy the PBPatcher.exe file into that folder. Now run it and it will pull down all necessary files to run PointBlank. It downloads all the files into whatever folder the patcher is in... if thats on your desktop, thats where they all go.

I have thought about creating an actual installer file, but the size would be many many times what the actual program is.


-DallanC

Are the files that the pbpatcher downloads stand alone files or should they have been put in the pont blank program? I created a folder in programs with the pbpatcher then ran the pbpatcher and it put the pb program and fifteen seperate files into the pbpatcher folder. Should have the fifteen files been put into the point blank program,and not as stand alone files?? SHOULD THESE FILES HAVE UPDATED EXISTING FILES IN POINT BLANK?
Back to top
View user's profile
DallanC
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Jan 18, 2005
Posts: 3351
Location: Utah

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 8:09 am    Post subject: Re: PB Patcher Problem ???? Reply with quote

The files are different and unique. they do not get integrated into the pointblank executable. PointBlank loads each file it needs individually, did it this way for several reasons, the main one being that rarely do many files change at the same time. This allows me to update select files allowing for smaller patching updates.

I know most people here use fast snazzy internet connections but we do have a significant number of users using dial up internet access. Having to patch 3 megs each time would take hours for them.


-DallanC
Back to top
View user's profile Photo Gallery
tripledeuce
Rookie Member
Rookie Member


Joined: Jan 25, 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 6:37 pm    Post subject: Re: PB Patcher Problem ???? Reply with quote

DallanC wrote:
The files are different and unique. they do not get integrated into the pointblank executable. PointBlank loads each file it needs individually, did it this way for several reasons, the main one being that rarely do many files change at the same time. This allows me to update select files allowing for smaller patching updates.

I know most people here use fast snazzy internet connections but we do have a significant number of users using dial up internet access. Having to patch 3 megs each time would take hours for them.


-DallanC

So what you are saying is that these files are not within PB. For example; when I click on add target then change target #2 ,PB gets target #2 from the seperate downloaded file of target #2 and brings it up in PB. The same is then true of the other seperately downloaded files, is this correct?
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index » PointBlank Software
Page 1 of 1
All times are GMT - 7 Hours



Jump to:  


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Valid CSS! Valid HTML 4.01!
Click to check if this page is realy HTML 4.01 compliant for speed :)

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of HuntingNut.com.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2011 by HuntingNut.com
Interactive software released under GNU GPL, Code Credits, Privacy Policy

.: Upgraded to DragonFly 9.2 by *Dizfunkshunal* :.