HuntingNut
HuntingNut
   Login or Register
HomeCommunity ForumsPhoto AlbumsRegister
     
 

User Info

Welcome Anonymous


Membership:
Latest: CapJones
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 12468

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 41
BOT: 3
Total: 44
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: Forums
02: Forums
03: Your Account
04: Photo Albums
05: Forums
06: Your Account
07: Forums
08: Forums
09: Forums
10: Forums
11: Forums
12: Forums
13: Forums
14: Forums
15: Forums
16: Home
17: Forums
18: Home
19: Home
20: Forums
21: Forums
22: Forums
23: Forums
24: Forums
25: Forums
26: Forums
27: Home
28: Forums
29: Forums
30: News
31: Forums
32: Forums
33: Forums
34: Forums
35: Forums
36: Photo Albums
37: Forums
38: Forums
39: Home
40: Forums
41: Forums
  BOT:
01: Photo Albums
02: Photo Albums
03: Forums

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!
 

Coppermine Stats
Photo Albums
 Albums: 304
 Pictures: 2340
  · Views: 296012
  · Votes: 1302
  · Comments: 85
 

Support our Advertisers

Fixed my shot Chrony
Discussion regarding the reloading of ammunition and tuning of loads for accuracy
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index » Reloading Ammunition

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gelandangan
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: May 07, 2006
Posts: 5735
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2008 4:29 pm    Post subject: Re: Fixed my shot Chrony Reply with quote

The 10mm plate is NOT to protect it from direct shot. Only for debris.

If you directly shot your chrony, then you deserve to pay for a new one Very Happy

_________________
A straight line is the shortest distance between two points.
A smile is the shortest distance between two people.

The government I trust .. is my .45-70 Government.

Do - Not try!


gelandangan.weebly.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Dimitri
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: Nov 25, 2005
Posts: 5906
Location: Southern Ontario

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2008 4:46 pm    Post subject: Re: Fixed my shot Chrony Reply with quote

I wonder how much armour I'd need to use for my M1A with AP rounds to protect a Chrony. Shocked

Dimitri

_________________
A thousand hills, but no birds in flight, ten thousand paths, with no people's tracks. A lonely boat, a straw-hatted old man, fishing alone in the cold river snow.
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
gelandangan
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: May 07, 2006
Posts: 5735
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2008 9:06 pm    Post subject: Re: Fixed my shot Chrony Reply with quote

Dimitri wrote:
I wonder how much armour I'd need to use for my M1A with AP rounds to protect a Chrony. Shocked

Dimitri

I think an ordinary house brick placed lengthwise in front of a 10mm plate would be adequate.
Or, you could try to aim directly at the chrony UPSIDE DOWN 3 feet away using a scoped M1a Very Happy

_________________
A straight line is the shortest distance between two points.
A smile is the shortest distance between two people.

The government I trust .. is my .45-70 Government.

Do - Not try!


gelandangan.weebly.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
SwampFox
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: Jul 15, 2005
Posts: 1040
Location: Destin, Florida

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 8:16 am    Post subject: Re: Fixed my shot Chrony Reply with quote

D,
The best idea is not to shoot the darn thing. But, do get yourself a untit with the guts on the bench, just in case.
Ed

_________________
The inherent vice of capitalism is the unequal sharing of the blessings. The inherent blessing of socialism is the equal sharing of misery.
-Winston Churchill
Back to top
View user's profile Photo Gallery
PaulS
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: Feb 18, 2006
Posts: 3403
Location: South-Eastern Washington - the State

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 12:20 am    Post subject: Re: Fixed my shot Chrony Reply with quote

Dimitri wrote:
I wonder how much armour I'd need to use for my M1A with AP rounds to protect a Chrony. Shocked

Dimitri

You need 1" of armor or about 1 1/2" of T1 steel.

_________________
Paul
__________________
Speer, Lyman, Hodgdon, Sierra, and Hornady = reliable loading data
So and So's pages on the internet = NOT reliable loading data
Always check data against manuals
NEVER exceed maximum listed loads
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
grey_ghost
Rookie Member
Rookie Member


Joined: Apr 07, 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2013 2:26 am    Post subject: Re: Fixed my shot Chrony Reply with quote

gelandangan wrote:
Well.. after two weeks I found some time to fix my shot Chrony.
It wasn't damaged as bad as I think.

I will gradually make modification to shot proof it later.

I have two questions about componetns located at PCB of Shooting Chrony Betta.

What marking has chip located at right bottom corner of PCB ?
What marking has capacitor located near this chip (top left corner of chip) ?



beta_circut_board.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  106.34 KB
 Viewed:  4337 Time(s)

beta_circut_board.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Photo Gallery
gelandangan
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: May 07, 2006
Posts: 5735
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2013 3:56 am    Post subject: Re: Fixed my shot Chrony Reply with quote

Smile

Welcome.

The chip as far as I remember is an EEPROM from Microchip, I think it is an I2C variant.
The blue capacitor is a standard decoupling, 100nF for it.
IMO, you do not need this EEPROM if you are not using it for shot memory,
OTOH if the uC pinsg and waits for it to respond, it may hang the system altogether.

If you do need it, IMO, any I2C EEPROM from Microchip would do since it usually have the same pinout.

_________________
A straight line is the shortest distance between two points.
A smile is the shortest distance between two people.

The government I trust .. is my .45-70 Government.

Do - Not try!


gelandangan.weebly.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Vince
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: May 25, 2005
Posts: 13124
Location: Brisbane AUSTRALIA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2013 5:00 am    Post subject: Re: Fixed my shot Chrony Reply with quote

Gelan...you are the electronic wizard here mate...would the cost of building a chrono be more than buying a similar unit ready to go?

_________________
Cheers, Vince Cheers

Illegitimi non carborundum
(Never let the bastards grind you down)

Live simply. Love generously. Care deeply. Speak kindly. Leave the rest to God.

"Nulla Si Fa Senza Volonta."
(Without Commitment, Nothing Gets Done)
Back to top
View user's profile AIM Address MSN Messenger Yahoo Messenger Photo Gallery
TRBLSHTR
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: Mar 23, 2007
Posts: 1037
Location: Lower 48's-left coast(near portlandia)

PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2013 9:21 am    Post subject: Re: Fixed my shot Chrony Reply with quote

Smile A few years back I bought one of those top-o-line chronys(gamma master?)with the printer and external brain,but I did'nt like the opticle sensor rods(aluminum)so I changed to wooden dowels-just in case I was having one of those bad days and might hit the aluminum rod and damage the op-sensor.I then went a bit further and added some white pvc tubing to slip over the dowels with the minimum and maximum shooting heights noted by colored electrical tape for keepng the bullet at the correct distance above the op-sensors.To finish it off I added a couple of pieces of 3/4" steel plate at 35-45 degrees to help the bullets stay out of the op-sensor-needless to say this stuff is getting heavy-so I used an old tripod from a twin quartz halogen portable stand light to be able to support it all.Took some work-but it's at least 50%dummy proof!!!!!!!!!!! Shocked

_________________
"Tolerance becomes a crime when applied to evil." Thomas Mann
Back to top
View user's profile
grey_ghost
Rookie Member
Rookie Member


Joined: Apr 07, 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2013 10:04 am    Post subject: Re: Fixed my shot Chrony Reply with quote

Thanks.

gelandangan wrote:

The chip as far as I remember is an EEPROM from Microchip, I think it is an I2C variant.

Can you lookup at exact marking ? Memory capacity is still unknown.

gelandangan wrote:

The blue capacitor is a standard decoupling, 100nF for it.

Marking is 104 (10 * 10000 pF).

gelandangan wrote:

IMO, you do not need this EEPROM if you are not using it for shot memory, ...

EEPROM can be used as storage for device configuration.
Back to top
View user's profile Photo Gallery
Bushmaster
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: Jun 12, 2005
Posts: 10297
Location: Ava, Missouri

PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2013 11:55 am    Post subject: Re: Fixed my shot Chrony Reply with quote

Hummmm...Wonder who will win this one...??

_________________
I have one nerve left and yer standin' on it...

DEMOCRACY Two wolves and one sheep voting on what to have for lunch...
LIBERTY A well armed sheep contesting the outcome of the vote...
Back to top
View user's profile
DallanC
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Jan 18, 2005
Posts: 3151
Location: Utah

PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2013 12:11 pm    Post subject: Re: Fixed my shot Chrony Reply with quote

TRBLSHTR wrote:
...but I did'nt like the opticle sensor rods(aluminum)so I changed to wooden dowels-just in case I was having one of those bad days and might hit the aluminum rod and damage the op-sensor...

I use a couple wood shisk-a-bob skewers over the metal rods, "just in case".


-DallanC
Back to top
View user's profile Photo Gallery
gelandangan
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: May 07, 2006
Posts: 5735
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2013 2:24 pm    Post subject: Re: Fixed my shot Chrony Reply with quote

grey_ghost wrote:
Thanks.

Can you lookup at exact marking ? Memory capacity is still unknown.

I have to find time to dismantle mine, will post a better image once I do.

Quote::


EEPROM can be used as storage for device configuration.

It could be, but I sincerely doubt it.
Short of taping the I/O to watch the traffic, I wouldn't know exactly.

Good luck mate, please post your findings so others could benefit.

_________________
A straight line is the shortest distance between two points.
A smile is the shortest distance between two people.

The government I trust .. is my .45-70 Government.

Do - Not try!


gelandangan.weebly.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Dimitri
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: Nov 25, 2005
Posts: 5906
Location: Southern Ontario

PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2013 4:40 pm    Post subject: Re: Fixed my shot Chrony Reply with quote

Vince wrote:
Gelan...you are the electronic wizard here mate...would the cost of building a chrono be more than buying a similar unit ready to go?

One off electronics are expensive as as buying a Holland & Holland Rifle.

At the 50-100 quantity it becomes more reasonable, at 1000 it becomes commercially viable like one of those Turkish double barrelled rifles.

Dimitri

_________________
A thousand hills, but no birds in flight, ten thousand paths, with no people's tracks. A lonely boat, a straw-hatted old man, fishing alone in the cold river snow.
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
PaulS
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: Feb 18, 2006
Posts: 3403
Location: South-Eastern Washington - the State

PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2013 7:53 pm    Post subject: Re: Fixed my shot Chrony Reply with quote

grey_ghost wrote:
gelandangan wrote:
Well.. after two weeks I found some time to fix my shot Chrony.
It wasn't damaged as bad as I think.

I will gradually make modification to shot proof it later.

I have two questions about componetns located at PCB of Shooting Chrony Betta.

What marking has chip located at right bottom corner of PCB ?
What marking has capacitor located near this chip (top left corner of chip) ?

Grey ghost,
That chip that you have circledat the bottom right looks like it could be a 555 timer chip, but the one that is broken looks like an eprom.
I could be wrong there are other 8 pin ICs out there.

_________________
Paul
__________________
Speer, Lyman, Hodgdon, Sierra, and Hornady = reliable loading data
So and So's pages on the internet = NOT reliable loading data
Always check data against manuals
NEVER exceed maximum listed loads
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index » Reloading Ammunition
Page 2 of 5
All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next



Jump to:  


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Advertisements
 


Valid CSS! Valid HTML 4.01!
Click to check if this page is realy HTML 4.01 compliant for speed :)

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of HuntingNut.com.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2011 by HuntingNut.com
Interactive software released under GNU GPL, Code Credits, Privacy Policy

.: Upgraded to DragonFly 9.2 by Dizfunkshunal :.