New to Hunting so Bare with me
-> Big Game Hunting

#1: New to Hunting so Bare with me Author: MagforceLocation: Middle Tennessee PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2009 10:52 pm
    ----
My first post under general explains why my questions may seem dumb to some of you but I am new to hunting any type of Game, I have always been a shooter and reloader just now at the prime age of 38 am I going to give hunting a shot.

With that said ~ What is considered Big Game would that be like Deer and Bears or is Big Game Larger than Deer.

I live in Middle Tennessee so if anyone is from the area or knows it what would be a big Game animal to hunt here that would be considered a challange?

Ok the next question is what animals are considered Varmint or small game animals and what in Middle TN would be a good one to hunt.

Thanks guys and please dont laugh me out of here I am I guess a Rookie hunter HAHA Very Happy

#2: Re: New to Hunting so Bare with me Author: GrumulkinLocation: Central Ohio PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 2:18 am
    ----
I would consider a big game animal any animal one would have difficulty carrying by himself, ungutted, for a mile. By my definition, that would include the likes of deer, bear and hogs. I would consider varmints any animal hunted because it was a nuisance and small game hunting that which was done to collect animals that had some value for the fur, for food, etc.

I know you have deer in Tennessee and they're certainly a challenge. I believe you can also hunt elk, hogs and black bear there. To find about the regulations, stop by and sporting goods store worthy of the name that sells hunting equipment/supplies and they should have copies from your State's department of natural resources booklet which will tell you what can be hunted and how it's to be hunted.

Tenessee Hunting

#3: Re: New to Hunting so Bare with me Author: BushmasterLocation: Ava, Missouri PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 7:20 am
    ----