HuntingNut
HuntingNut
   Login or Register
HomeCommunity ForumsPhoto AlbumsRegister
     
 

User Info

Welcome Anonymous


Membership:
Latest: Pavel
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 1
Overall: 12456

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 41
BOT: 4
Total: 45
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: Forums
02: Forums
03: Forums
04: Forums
05: Forums
06: Forums
07: Forums
08: Forums
09: Forums
10: Forums
11: Forums
12: Forums
13: Forums
14: Forums
15: Forums
16: Forums
17: Forums
18: Forums
19: Forums
20: Forums
21: Forums
22: Home
23: Photo Albums
24: Forums
25: Forums
26: Forums
27: Forums
28: Forums
29: Forums
30: News
31: Photo Albums
32: Forums
33: Forums
34: Forums
35: Forums
36: Forums
37: Forums
38: Forums
39: Home
40: Forums
41: Forums
  BOT:
01: Forums
02: Forums
03: Forums
04: Forums

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!
 

Coppermine Stats
Photo Albums
 Albums: 302
 Pictures: 2369
  · Views: 294205
  · Votes: 1299
  · Comments: 86
 

Support our Advertisers

Fixed chokes or choke tubes?
Discussions related to Guns and Firearms

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gil Martin
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: Jan 28, 2005
Posts: 1600
Location: Schnecksville, PA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 5:15 pm    Post subject: Fixed chokes or choke tubes? Reply with quote

Just curious what you good folks prefer. I have shotguns with fixed chokes and others with choke tubes. I have been well pleased with using fixed chokes over the years. Tubes are nice, but once installed tend to remain in place. I have never seen a hunter change a choke tube in the field. The local gunsmith does a good business removing stuck choke tubes. So what do you prefer? Thanks. All the best...
Gil

_________________
Gil
Back to top
View user's profile
moose2
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: Mar 19, 2005
Posts: 707
Location: North Idaho

PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 6:10 pm    Post subject: Re: Fixed chokes or choke tubes? Reply with quote

Gil, I tend to side with your analogy. I also have both fixed and changeable tubes in my shotguns and rarely change the changeable ones. I would say though, that if a person was religated to only one shotgun, I would side with having changeable tubes.--tr

_________________
tr
Back to top
View user's profile
george20042007
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: Jan 27, 2006
Posts: 568
Location: Arizona

PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 11:25 pm    Post subject: Re: Fixed chokes or choke tubes? Reply with quote

I agree. If you have only one shotgun, go with choke tubes. I have a side by side that has fixed tubes, one modified, one full. I have an over under with fixed chokes, one modified, one full. That seems to be the desired combination. I have an older Remington 1100 that has a fixed full choke & a pump with fixed modified. When hunting, they all do well whether it be upland or ducks. I also have a Browning Citori Plus trap gun with single & double barrel set that uses choke tubes, and I use a variety for the type of trap shooting I do. I learned long ago to use a choke tube lube to keep them removable. Very Happy
Keep it coming...
Back to top
View user's profile AIM Address
Daveyboy
Member
Member


Joined: Jan 22, 2006
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 3:16 am    Post subject: Re: Fixed chokes or choke tubes? Reply with quote

Best thing for lubricating chokes is the graphite powder that locksmiths use. Doesn't burn out or fade away. Doesn't dry out either. Doesn't collect dust either. Clean your gun when you've finished and apply a little of this magic dust. Brilliant stuff.

As it happens, I have multi choke shotguns, the tubes of which I never change.

D

_________________
Why, in films, don't they just kill it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Photo Gallery
Vince
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: May 25, 2005
Posts: 13066
Location: Brisbane AUSTRALIA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 6:24 am    Post subject: Re: Fixed chokes or choke tubes? Reply with quote

I have never owned a shotgun with fixed chokes, but I have used a Mossberg 12g bolt action with a variable choke fitted, that was great.

I own a Fausti Stefano O/U in 12g that has interchangeable choke tubes and I reckon it is great. I mostly use this gun for Trap, Skeet and Field so the chokes are changed regularly.

Good idea about the graphite Daveyboy. Must try it, I have plenty of the stuff. Also have a graphite/teflon powder that is used for locks that is brilliant, might consider trying that as well.

Cheers, Vince

_________________
Cheers, Vince Cheers

Illegitimi non carborundum
(Never let the bastards grind you down)

Live simply. Love generously. Care deeply. Speak kindly. Leave the rest to God.

"Nulla Si Fa Senza Volonta."
(Without Commitment, Nothing Gets Done)
Back to top
View user's profile AIM Address MSN Messenger Yahoo Messenger Photo Gallery
roklok
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: Aug 11, 2005
Posts: 607
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 3:34 pm    Post subject: Re: Fixed chokes or choke tubes? Reply with quote

My main shotgun is my 11-87 and I change the chokes often on it. I am more of a rifleman than a shotgunner,my 11-87 does duty for lots of different game. I have lots of rifles for about any imaginable use but make do with one scattergun.
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index » Gun & Firearm Discussions
Page 1 of 1
All times are GMT - 7 Hours



Jump to:  


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Advertisements
 


Valid CSS! Valid HTML 4.01!
Click to check if this page is realy HTML 4.01 compliant for speed :)

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of HuntingNut.com.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2011 by HuntingNut.com
Interactive software released under GNU GPL, Code Credits, Privacy Policy

.: Upgraded to DragonFly 9.2 by Dizfunkshunal :.