· Views: 820725
  · Votes: 1316
  · Comments: 86

custom/homemade gun stock question
Discussions related to Guns and Firearms
Go to page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
tlo7mm

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 10:19 pm    Post subject: custom/homemade gun stock question Reply with quote

I have a beautiful stock that I was asked to finish by my Aunt. My uncle passed away Friday night. In the 70's when they got married he had started building a stock for his Model 03A3 Smith Corona 30-06 that he hunted with as a young man. It is made mostly of Black walnut. The Stock is cut and shaped and fitted for the barrel and action. I finished a few rough spots on the stock this evening and am ready to move onto staining and sealing it. I have never done this before and it means a lot to me that I do the best job I possible can for my Aunt. I was hoping someone on here can help me decide the best route to go in order to make sure it is as nice as it possibly can be. I am the family wood worker and have a great deal of experience with it but never with a gun stock. Thank you all for any help you can provide.

Patriotism is supporting your country all the time, and your government when it deserves it. - Mark Twain
Vince
Site Admin
Site Admin

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 10:25 pm    Post subject: Re: custom/homemade gun stock question Reply with quote

A labour of love...that is great. Sorry to hear of your Uncle's passing mate. Please pass our commiserations on to your Aunt.

Stain and seal...not the route I would take. I think if the piece of walnut is a quality piece I would apply a hand rubbed oil finish. It takes a while to do it, but the results in my mind are far superior to an artificial finish.

Illegitimi non carborundum
(Never let the bastards grind you down)

Live simply. Love generously. Care deeply. Speak kindly. Leave the rest to God.

"Nulla Si Fa Senza Volonta."
(Without Commitment, Nothing Gets Done)
tlo7mm