HuntingNut
HuntingNut
   Login or Register
HomeCommunity ForumsPhoto AlbumsRegister
     
 

User Info

Welcome Anonymous


Membership:
Latest: barcoo59
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 1
Overall: 12598

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 89
BOT: 2
Total: 91
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: Forums
02: Forums
03: Forums
04: Forums
05: Forums
06: Forums
07: Forums
08: Forums
09: Forums
10: Forums
11: Forums
12: Forums
13: Forums
14: Forums
15: Forums
16: Forums
17: Forums
18: Forums
19: Forums
20: Forums
21: Forums
22: Forums
23: Forums
24: Forums
25: Home
26: Forums
27: Forums
28: Forums
29: Forums
30: Forums
31: Forums
32: Forums
33: Forums
34: Forums
35: Photo Albums
36: Forums
37: Forums
38: Articles: Topics
39: Forums
40: Forums
41: Forums
42: Forums
43: Forums
44: Forums
45: Forums
46: Forums
47: Forums
48: Forums
49: Forums
50: Forums
51: Forums
52: Forums
53: Forums
54: Forums
55: Forums
56: Forums
57: Forums
58: Forums
59: Forums
60: Forums
61: Forums
62: Forums
63: Forums
64: Photo Albums
65: Forums
66: Forums
67: Forums
68: Forums
69: Forums
70: Forums
71: Forums
72: Forums
73: Forums
74: Forums
75: Forums
76: Forums
77: Forums
78: Forums
79: Forums
80: Forums
81: Forums
82: Forums
83: Forums
84: Forums
85: Forums
86: Forums
87: Forums
88: Forums
89: Photo Albums
  BOT:
01: Forums
02: Forums

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!
 

Coppermine Stats
Photo Albums
 Albums: 305
 Pictures: 2360
  · Views: 393439
  · Votes: 1309
  · Comments: 86
 

Support our Advertisers

280 rem,
Discussion regarding the reloading of ammunition and tuning of loads for accuracy
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index » Reloading Ammunition

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
280shooter
Member
Member


Joined: Jun 09, 2008
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2008 12:44 pm    Post subject: 280 rem, Reply with quote

whats the best powder you have used for your 280,
I been using IMR 4350 and H4350,For the 120 gr and 140 gr,
I use between,52-54,
I have a winchester model 70 classic featherweight,It would shoot 1/2 groups,now it shoots pie plate groups,So i have work todo for sure,I need to buy the fat wrench torque screw driver,from Mid Way,Some one said the front screw should be torqued to 35 in lbs and the back to 30in lb.
Back to top
View user's profile
Pumpkinslinger
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: Sep 22, 2007
Posts: 4479
Location: NC foothills

PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:26 pm    Post subject: Re: 280 rem, Reply with quote

280shooter, I have a Win 70 Featherweight in .280 Rem too. I'm very interested in what caused your problem. The WORST thing I tried was free-floating the barrel. After adding shims back to the fore-end I got it shooting OK again. I'll be glass bedding the fore-end contact point at some point.

I've been loading various 160 grain bullets over RL-19. No loads to brag on yet but no problems getting "minute of deer".

I've seen some unflattering reviews on those torque screw drivers. Make sure you do some homework before buying.

_________________
Mike

"I ain't no better than anyone else, and there ain't no one better than me!" Ma Kettle

Back to top
View user's profile AIM Address Yahoo Messenger Photo Gallery
Joe Boleo
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: Dec 25, 2006
Posts: 427
Location: Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2008 4:39 pm    Post subject: Re: 280 Rem Reply with quote

Welcome to the Forum.

My preference is IMR4350 for 139, 150 and 154 grain bullets in all my .280 Rem rifles. Take care...
Joe
Back to top
View user's profile
280shooter
Member
Member


Joined: Jun 09, 2008
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2008 8:15 pm    Post subject: Re: 280 rem, Reply with quote

History,I had a rifle at a gun smith being reworked,when i went to pick it up.I jobber had walked in with this brand new,winchester classic fetherweight in 280,Or was it 7 mm express,either way I had to have it,what a great looking rifle.I had read all about the new classics that were coming out,thats why i picked the 280 i could shoot all kinds of bullet weights,
I had to shoot this new rifle..so i bought some 120 gr rem,140s. and headed to the range.I was impressed,that thing shot 1/2 and less at 100 yards,with what ever i shot and reloaded,I took it to canada and killed a caribu at 300 yards,with the Nos,Partions,and that was with only a 4 power scope,Well after that trip to the North,I ddt shoot it that much,I never took it out if they were calling for rain,this was my frist big new gun.and no rain was going to fall on it,so i used my custum 8mm,that i had that gun smith build for me,glass bedded,free floated barrel.all the works,Mcmillion stock,timmney trigger,and all the bells and whistles,So i used that the most,and the 280 would sit in the safe,Plus i use a bow too.so anyhow.I took the 280 rifle out to the range,after i had bought a new redesigned simmons scope,3x9,and took loads that had worked so well before,,I took the action off the stock and adjusted the trigger,when i put it back to gether,,i thought this isnt right< why is this barrel not free floating,But i shot it anyhow,i was all over the paper< now im thinking,(brain fart) this wasnt like this before,what did i do.is it sccpe? is it that this barrel should be free floating? so i take the action off the stock,and i take sandpaper,and sand the channel.Not alot, but some.so i out it all abck together,i check with a piece of paper,its free floating to the tip,Now Im scratching my head,Humm,, maybe its not free floating. So i stop with the sanding,,take more reloads out, to the range, begine to set up.I have a gun rest its solid,no movment,Im set,I shot one,its not near the middle.i shoot again,its some place else,i let the barrle cool..shoot again,no where near the middle,so i shoot at another target,with a dif, load,same results,

what in the world did i do now..I messed this thing all up.So i look into the action screws,,some say do them like this,some say do them this way,I tried,with out any torque driver,I did how ever,get the first 2 shots almost touching,then the 3rd went south,,so i let it cool,and i couldnt get it to shoot for crap after that,
So im thinking its a torque issue,now..or maybe i need to add the wood back to where i took it off,I dont know.I will get it to shoot back to where it was,if i have to bed the tip more,I will..
But thats why i need the torque driver,So while at the range i can add more torque,or take it off,,so thats why my rifle wont shoot for crap
Back to top
View user's profile
SingleShotLover
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: Dec 26, 2007
Posts: 971
Location: Illinois

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 5:55 am    Post subject: Re: 280 rem, Reply with quote

It sounds as though you are on the right track. If nothing else has changed I would suspect the action screws too.

As to powder, the first powder I tried with my .280 was IMR 4064...just because it was sitting on my bench at the time. Accuracy in all the bullet weights I have tried is all I could ask for so I have stuck with it. I am sure that there are other powders that could do as well and certainly many that are less temperature sensitive, but as they say, "If it ain't broke...."

Good luck and keep us posted.

_________________
If you can't hit it with one, you probably can't with two either!

The biggest problem with a closed mind is that it never seems to come with a closed mouth.

SSL
Back to top
View user's profile Photo Gallery
WildHorse
Member
Member


Joined: Feb 17, 2005
Posts: 184
Location: Nebraska

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 11:45 am    Post subject: Re: 280 rem, Reply with quote

My .02 cents worth:

I use Alliant RL15 powder in my 280 Rem. At 54 gr. I get really good groups and very consistant.
I shoot a 100gr Sierra HP bullet and it goes out at 3400fps.
Extremely accurate and fun to shoot.
I have it zeroed at 300 yds. This gives my a total height of just under 4"
out to zero. I am very happy with this load. Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy

_________________
It is dangerous to be right when the government is wrong.
- Voltaire (1694- 1778)
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail ICQ Number AIM Address Photo Gallery
bradking1
Member
Member


Joined: Mar 03, 2005
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 1:26 pm    Post subject: Re: 280 rem, Reply with quote

Just read your post.

This may sound elementary, but have you also used a copper solvent to get the copper out of your barrel? I know that people clean rifles religiously but tend to neglect taking copper out of the barrel. There are several different solvents and they all work well. When you do use them, you need to make sure that you FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS to a T.

Also it could be stock screws or your scope mounts or possibly a scope problem.

Hope you get it worked out.

take care
Brad
Back to top
View user's profile Photo Gallery
280shooter
Member
Member


Joined: Jun 09, 2008
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:41 pm    Post subject: Re: 280 rem, Reply with quote

Funny you should mention the copper,I aways take that with me to the range,with all cleaning stuff,I cleaned it at the range if im doing alot of new loads,
I thought i had it cleaned well..I never ever got a green cleaning patch,ever,and this is a copper solvent,I read the direction,to the T,So i thought they always talk about your cleaning patch coming out green.I neevr had a green patch,So after a day of scaring paper targets, i thought u know,im going to use that copper stuff again,and this time,Im letting it sit for 10 mins,
WELL it took me 2 hours to get all the green out of the barrle,
Gues what it didnt make one bit of diference,Go figure.
I guess i need to buy one of them torque screw drivers,hate to buy it,I know i won't be using it after the first time.
I was also thinking it might be the scope,Its new,
But I had one just like it,And had that on a little T/C in 223,That only took 5 or 6 shots before I had to send that new Re-designed scope back to the company,So maybe its scope,all else is tight as a bull frogs butt hole,
Back to top
View user's profile
280shooter
Member
Member


Joined: Jun 09, 2008
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 6:49 pm    Post subject: Re: 280 rem, Reply with quote

I took my Rifle to basspro,I had the smith torque the screws,He said to give him 15 Mins,
So I needed small rifle primers,baspro has them,5 bucks a pack of 100..whats up with that? and they only had Rem,No CCI or Win,Only Rem.
so anyhow he said he torqued the front screw and back to 40 inch,He said i was real close to 40,but the back was way off,So now i know its 40 in lbs front and back,
Now I need to save my Pennies and buy more bullets,after buying primers at 5 bucks a pack,Now Im broke,,Oh i also need powder,
Thanks guys for the help.
Back to top
View user's profile
280shooter
Member
Member


Joined: Jun 09, 2008
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2008 2:32 pm    Post subject: Re: 280 rem, Reply with quote

took my 280 to the range,,nothing changed,I have this sinking feeling its the scope.brand new redesigned SIMMONS,,3x9 I bought 2 at the same time,I already sent one back,after 10 round from my T/C in 223,Im thinking it has to be the scope,wondering cross hairs,
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index » Reloading Ammunition
Page 1 of 1
All times are GMT - 7 Hours



Jump to:  


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Advertisements
 


Valid CSS! Valid HTML 4.01!
Click to check if this page is realy HTML 4.01 compliant for speed :)

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of HuntingNut.com.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2011 by HuntingNut.com
Interactive software released under GNU GPL, Code Credits, Privacy Policy

.: Upgraded to DragonFly 9.2 by Dizfunkshunal :.